Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » Automating Export/Import of 8i db in NT4
Automating Export/Import of 8i db in NT4 [message #72280] Thu, 01 May 2003 09:21 Go to next message
Noah Pullen
First, thank you for this forum and for taking the time to read my question. I am new at being a DBA but will try to ask my question in as a descriptive way a possible.

I thoroughly understand how to export and import my database. I work in a production enviroment that has 3 shifts and seldom get the opportunity to performa a DBdump due to the near round the clock usage and deperately want to learn how to automate this task.

I have moderate experience making batch files but have found that this task is beyond my current skill set and would greatly appreciate it if someone could send me some reference material that I could use to accoplish this task.

I am a staunch do it yourselfer an am not looking for someone to do this for me rather I seek to be under the tutlage of a seasoned vet.

My Goals:
Automate the export using the AT command
Automate the dropping tables that belong to SYSADM ( i have a script to accoplish this called dropsysadm.sql)
Automate the import using the AT command

Thank you in advance
Re: Automating Export/Import of 8i db in NT4 [message #72281 is a reply to message #72280] Thu, 01 May 2003 09:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Noah Pullen
Would like to add that this would be a dump of the production db to the test db both are on the same server.
Re: Automating Export/Import of 8i db in NT4 [message #72283 is a reply to message #72280] Thu, 01 May 2003 12:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Noah Pullen
Update: needs lessen.

I have figured out how to get my batch file to kick off the export. After backupexe finishes my cold backups I have it start a .bat file that starts my db's and I use the CALL command to kick off my export.bat file that sets the targeted sid and parfile.